Death Of Sardanapalus

Eugene Delacroix • Malerei, 1827, 392×496 cm
$54
Digital copy: 1.6 MB
1679 × 1333 px • JPEG
44.7 × 35.3 cm • 95 dpi
28.4 × 22.6 cm • 150 dpi
14.2 × 11.3 cm • 300 dpi
Digital copy is a high resolution file, downloaded by the artist or artist's representative. The price also includes the right for a single reproduction of the artwork in digital or printed form.
Kommentare
0
Über das Kunstwerk
Kunstgattung: Malerei
Motiv und Objekte: Akt, Literarische Szene
Kunststil: Romantik
Technik: Öl
Materialien: Leinwand
Erstellungsdatum: 1827
Größe: 392×496 cm
Mindestalter 18 Jahre
Region: Paris, France
Standort: Louvre, Paris
Das Kunstwerk befindet sich in den ausgewählten Sammlungen: 57 selections
Digital copy shipping and payment
A link for digital copy downloading will be available right after the payment is processed
Pay on site. We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express.

Bildbeschreibung «Death Of Sardanapalus»

Diese Szene ist Delacroix wurde von Lord Byron inspiriert und fügte flüsternd eine Biographie hinzu, Marquis de Sade, dessen Bücher im frühen neunzehnten Jahrhundert in Frankreich weit verbreitet waren. Es ist jedoch illegal.

Mit Byron als Recht arbeitete einer der Freunde des Künstlers an Illustrationen für die französische Ausgabe von Byron und gab Delacroix ein Stück über den assyrischen König Sardanapalus. Die Geschichte des Königs, der befahl, seinen gesamten Reichtum vor der Ankunft des Feindes zu verbrennen, beeindruckte den jungen Eugène so sehr, dass er eine wirklich wissenschaftliche Arbeit geleistet hatte, um die Details zu finden. Im Louvre kopierte er die Profile von den Münzen des Alten Ostens, studierte in der Bibliothek der Gravuren in den Büchern der großen Reisenden und mongolischen Miniaturen, ich las die Werke antiker griechischer Historiker. Einige Utensilien und bunte Seide waren in der Antike zu sehen und ähnelten Indien. Einige architektonische Elemente stammten von dem, was er in England von Gemälden über den Tod antiker Städte sah.

Aber vom Marquis de Sade, der auf die Leinwand geschmuggelt wurde, rutschte eine berauschende Mischung aus Sinnlichkeit und Tod, gesteigerten Sinnen und dem schönsten Gemälde des 19. Jahrhunderts auf den Rücken der Frauen. Biographen sagen, dass Delacroix sich im Erwachsenenalter nicht gern an dieses Muster erinnerte. Als ob er ihre geheimsten Leidenschaften und Fantasien enthüllte, um sie für immer vor neugierigen Blicken zu verbergen.

In der kanonischen Geschichte von Sardanapalus, Byron und den alten Historikern wurde nichts über den Mord an Frauen, Dienern und Pferden gesagt. King-Sybarite (er hat den Schlaf in einem Federbett erfunden) hat mich nur gebeten, alles zu zerstören, was ihm Lebensfreude bereitete. Dieser Delacroix malte in seiner Vorstellung die jungen Schönheiten, das Gemetzel und die Ruhe eines Tyrannen und akzeptierte zufrieden den Tod seiner Lieben und seinen eigenen Tod. Die erste Skizze zeigt die Rolle von Sardanapalus Delacroix. Und sie nahmen den impressionistischen Malstil vorweg. In Arbeitsnotizen gibt es übrigens eine Aufzeichnung: "Es ist wünschenswert, dass die Pinselstriche getrennt liegen, sie verschmelzen in einiger Entfernung und sagen die Farbe von großer Reinheit und Intensität".

Malerische Emotionen und Frische, "Sardanapalus" sogar bis Delacroix wird bald übertreffen. Um zu verstehen, wie ein Feuerwerk auf diesem Bild des 29-jährigen Künstlers aussehen sollte, können Sie sich im Salon des Jahres den Hit der Saison ansehen - "Apotheose von Homer" von Ingres. Absolut glänzendes und statisches Bild, das auseinander fällt und es dem Auge nicht erlaubt, etwas Wichtiges zu erfassen.

Delacroix '"Sardanapalus" machte eine Revolution: Ein Bild ist unglaublich dynamisch (zumindest im Vergleich zum "Homer") und die Komposition basiert auf der wirbelnden Spirale. Die Kombination von hellen, gesättigten Farben, vor denen Delacroix bereits gelernt hatte, keine Angst zu haben, schafft ein so leidenschaftliches und ängstliches Bild, dass die Abteilung für bildende Kunst und Kritiker Alarm geschlagen hat. In Zeitungen war beispielsweise eine solche Überprüfung zu sehen: "Herr Delacroix befahl zwei Lieferwagen, zerstörte Möbel aus dem Palast des Herrn von Sardanapalus herauszunehmen, zwei Leichenwagen für die Toten und zwei Omnibusse für die Überlebenden.".

Delacroix geriet nach diesem Gemälde in Ungnade und wurde der staatlichen Ordnung beraubt. Glücklicherweise änderte sich die Regierung in Frankreich im neunzehnten Jahrhundert häufiger als künstlerische Prinzipien. Die Schande dauerte nur drei Jahre vor der Juli-Revolution.

Verfasser: Anna Sidelnikova
Kommentare

Death Of Sardanapalus

Eugene Delacroix • Painting, 1827, 392×496 cm
$53.00
Digital copy: 1.6 MB
1679 × 1333 px • JPEG
44.7 × 35.3 cm • 95 dpi
28.4 × 22.6 cm • 150 dpi
14.2 × 11.3 cm • 300 dpi
Digital copy is a high resolution file, downloaded by the artist or artist's representative. The price also includes the right for a single reproduction of the artwork in digital or printed form.
Comments
0
About the artwork
Art form: Painting
Subject and objects: Nude, Literary scene
Style of art: Romanticism
Technique: Oil
Materials: Canvas
Date of creation: 1827
Size: 392×496 cm
Content 18+
Artwork in selections: 58 selections
Digital copy shipping and payment
A link for digital copy downloading will be available right after the payment is processed
Pay on site. We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express.

Description of the artwork «Death Of Sardanapalus»

This scene is Delacroix was inspired by Lord Byron, and added in a whisper, a biography, Marquis de Sade, whose books were widely published in France in the early nineteenth century. However, it is illegal.

With Byron as one's legit, one of the artist's friends worked on illustrations for the French edition of Byron and gave Delacroix a play about the Assyrian king Sardanapalus. The story of the king, who commanded to burn all his wealth before the arrival of the enemy, so impressed the young eugène that he had done a truly scientific work to find the details. At the Louvre he copied the profiles from the coins of the Ancient East, studied in the library of the engravings in the books of the great travelers and Mongolian miniatures, I read the works of ancient Greek historians. Some utensils and colorful silk peeped in the antique and resemble India, some architectural elements came from what he saw in England of paintings about the death of ancient cities.

But from the Marquis de Sade smuggled onto the canvas slipped intoxicating mixture of sensuality and death, heightened senses and the most beautiful painting of the XIX century the women's backs. Biographers say that Delacroix did not like to remember about this pattern in adulthood. As if he revealed their most secret passions and fantasies, then to forever hide them from prying eyes.

In the canonical history of Sardanapalus, nor Byron, nor the ancient historians, nothing was said about the murder of wives, servants and horses. King-sybarite (he invented sleep in a feather bed) just asked me to destroy everything that gave him pleasure in life. This Delacroix in his imagination painted the young beauties, the carnage and the calm of a tyrant, contentedly accepting the death of loved ones and his own death. The first sketches the role of Sardanapalus Delacroix portrayed himself. And they anticipated the impressionistic style of painting. In working notes by the way there is a record: "It is desirable that the brush strokes lay separately, they will merge at a distance, saying the color of great purity and intensity".

Picturesque emotion and freshness, "Sardanapalus" even to Delacroix will surpass soon. In order to understand what fireworks should look like this picture of the 29-year-old artist, you can look at the hit of the season in the Salon of that year – "Apotheosis Of Homer" By Ingres. Absolutely glossy and static image, which kind of falls apart and does not allow the eye to catch hold of something important.

Delacroix's "Sardanapalus" made a revolution: a picture is incredibly dynamic (at least compare with the "Homer"), and the composition built on the swirling spiral. The combination of bright, saturated colors, of which Delacroix had already learned not to be afraid of, creates so passionate and fearful picture that the Department of fine arts and critics have sounded the alarm. In Newspapers it was possible to see, for example, such a review: "Mr. Delacroix ordered two vans to take out ruined furniture from the Palace of the Lord of Sardanapalus, two funeral hearse for the dead, and two omnibus for those who survived".

Delacroix after this painting fell into disfavor and was deprived of state orders. Fortunately, the government in France in the nineteenth century changed more often than artistic principles. The disgrace lasted only three years before the July revolution.

Author: Anna Sidelnikova
Comments