The project provides a unique opportunity to see the complete collection of Ural icons of the XVIII - beginning of the XX century from the collection of the Museum of the Nevyansk Icon (Yekaterinburg). In general, the exhibition presents about 300 works in total, revealing the phenomenon of the Nevyansk icon in its entirety.
The history of the Nevyansk icon began three centuries ago. The earliest icon dates back to 1734, the latest is 1919. Being not a historical reconstruction, but a living continuation of the Old Russian tradition, the Nevyansk icon takes from the Middle Ages what customers and icon painters seemed to be the very essence of ancient piety. On this are based its distinctive features. In particular, personal on Nevyansk icons, starting from the earliest, is always bright. Lightening was achieved by gradually adding more and more white to ocher of the main tone. The whiteness has become one of the main signs of the Nevyansk icon, preserved throughout its history. At the same time, Nevyansk icon-painters deliberately ignored some artistic techniques inherent in ancient painting. They carefully avoided picturesqueness, did not allow even the smallest girl pet, never painted teardrops in the corners of the eyes.
According to the doctor of art history Gerold Ivanovich Vzdornov, the Nevyansk icon can be considered the last icon-painting school.