Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum
Exhibition April 19, 2020 − April 25

Sacraments of Poussin

«Seven Sacraments", Written in Rome by the French artist Nicolas Poussin, is one of the greatest collections of paintings in the history of Western art. The founder of the classical tradition of French art Poussin sought to achieve a noble and pure style of painting, preferring to paint for private patrons who shared his scientific interests. It is known that he carefully planned his compositions, using waxworks located on the model stage to achieve the desired effect.

This series of paintings is distinguished by clarity, symmetry and quiet restraint, drama is created by gestures and contrasts of light and shadow. The “Seven Sacraments” represent each of the seven sacred rituals of the Roman Catholic Church: Baptism, Confirmation, Marriage, Repentance, Initiation, Eucharist and the Anointing. Poussin's goal in writing the series was to convey the solemn nature and religious instruction in every rite.