Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum
State Museum of Fine Arts named after A.S. Pushkin presents an exhibition Bill Viola. Journey of the Soul ".

The exhibition presents more than 20 video works of the artist, which were created in the period from 2000 to 2014. They demonstrate how the artist explored the possibilities of video art and improved his mastery of media technologies while creating works that became iconic for his work. In the main exhibition halls of the museum, visitors will see for the first time such large-scale works as The Fiery Woman (2005), The Quintet of the Amazed (2000) and four works from the Martyrs series (2014).

Bill Viola is an acclaimed video art classic who pioneered its origins in the 1970s. For over four decades he has been creating audio and video installations, films, video, sound environments, and media works accompanying large-scale concert and opera performances. Viola represented the United States at the 46th Venice Biennale in 1995; his solo exhibitions were held at the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York (1997), the Getty Museum in Los Angeles (2003), the Morey Art Museum in Tokyo (2006), the Grand Palais in Paris (2014), Palazzo Strozzi in Florence ( 2017), Guggenheim Museum Bilbao (2017), Royal Academy of Arts London (2019), Busan Art Museum in South Korea (2020); in 2014, the series "Martyrs" was installed in St. Paul's Cathedral in London as a permanent installation, and since 2016 the video triptych "Mary" has been located there.

Based on the official website The Pushkin Museum. A.S. Pushkin.