Welcome to the brand new Arthive! Discover a full list of new features here.

Nicholas
Mas

Netherlands • 1634−1693

Geboren in der Familie eines reichen Kaufmanns. Um 1648 kam er nach Amsterdam und lernte in der Werkstatt von Rembrandt, wo er bis 1653 blieb. 1653 kehrte Nicholas Maes nach Dordrecht zurück und eröffnete eine eigene Werkstatt. Zwischen 1665 und 1667 haben die Maes Antwerpen besucht und vielleicht sogar einige Zeit dort gelebt. Dann kehrte er nach Dordrecht zurück und zog 1673 nach Amsterdam, wo er bis zu seinem Tod lebte.

Nicolas Maas (niderl. Nicolaes Maes, es gibt auch die Schriften von Nicholas Maes, Nicolas Mas, Nicolas Maes, Nicholas Mays und Nicolaes Maes, getauft im Januar 1634, Dordrecht - begraben am 24. November 1693 in Amsterdam) war ein niederländischer Maler, für den er berühmt war seine Porträts und Genreszenen, einer der letzten Vertreter des Goldenen Zeitalters der niederländischen Malerei. Geboren in der Familie eines reichen Kaufmanns, Gerrit Maas und IDA Herman. Anscheinend begann er in Dordrecht Malerei zu studieren. Um 1648 kam er nach Amsterdam und wurde in der Werkstatt von Rembrandt ausgebildet, wo er bis 1653 blieb. Seine frühen Gemälde zeigen Genreszenen in dunkelroten Tönen, die in mehreren Fällen an Rembrandts Gemälde derselben Zeit erinnern, in einigen Fällen an das Werk von Maas in verschiedenen Museen wurde Rembrandt zugeschrieben. 1653 kehrte Nicholas Maas nach Dordrecht zurück und eröffnete eine eigene Werkstatt. Der Höhepunkt seiner Kreativität wird als zwischen 1655 und 1665 angesehen, als er hauptsächlich Genreszenen darstellte, die in überfüllten Räumen mit Windows stattfinden. Dieser Aspekt seiner Arbeit beeinflusste Künstler der Delfter Schule, insbesondere Jan Vermeer und Pieter de Hooha, für die das Interieur des Seitenlichts aus den Fenstern zum Hauptmotiv der Kreativität wurde. Die Lieblingshandlung von Maas Werken dieser Zeit war das Lesen, Beten oder Schlafen einer alten Frau. Zwischen 1665 und 1667, dem Jahr, in dem die Maas Antwerpen besuchten und vielleicht sogar einige Zeit lebten.

Dann kehrte er nach Dordrecht zurück und zog 1673 nach Amsterdam, wo er bis zu seinem Tod lebte. In den 1660er Jahren entfernte er sich vom Stil von Rembrandt und begann, Porträts in leuchtenden Farben zu malen, die dem Stil von van Dyck näher kamen, der großen Erfolg hatte. In den Werken von Maas oft Monogramme, wie zum Beispiel Katzen, die Futterfrauen stehlen. während sie vor dem Abendessen betet.

Go to biography

Veröffentlichungen

View all publications

Ausstellungen

Alle Ausstellungen des Künstlers
Vollständiger Feed

Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum

Nicholas
Mas

Netherlands 
1634−1693
Subscribe10

Born in the family of a wealthy merchant. About 1648, came to Amsterdam and was apprenticed in the workshop of Rembrandt, where he remained until 1653. In 1653 Nicholas Maes returned to Dordrecht and opened his own workshop. Between 1665 and 1667 year, the Maes has visited and perhaps even lived for some time in Antwerp. Then he returned to Dordrecht, and in 1673 he moved to Amsterdam, where he lived until his death.

Nicolas Maas (niderl. Nicolaes Maes, there are also the writing of Nicholas Maes, Nicolas Mas, Nicolas Maes, Nicholas Mays and Nicolaes Maes, baptized in January 1634, Dordrecht — buried November 24, 1693, Amsterdam) was a Dutch painter famous for his portraits and genre scenes, one of the last representatives of the Golden age of Dutch painting. Born in the family of a rich merchant Gerrit Maas and IDA Herman. Apparently, he began to study painting in Dordrecht. About 1648, came to Amsterdam and was apprenticed in the workshop of Rembrandt, where he remained until 1653. His early paintings depicting genre scenes in dark red tones, so reminiscent of Rembrandt's paintings of the same time, in several cases, the work of Maas in various museums was attributed to Rembrandt. In 1653 Nicholas Maas returned to Dordrecht and opened his own workshop. The peak of his creativity is considered to be between 1655 and 1665, when he mainly depicted genre scenes taking place in crowded rooms with Windows. This aspect of his work influenced artists of the Delft school, particularly Jan Vermeer and Pieter de Hooha for which the interiors of the side light from the Windows became the main motive of creativity. The favorite plot of Maas works of this period were reading, praying or sleeping old woman. Between 1665 and 1667 the year the Maas visited and perhaps even lived for some time in Antwerp.

Then he returned to Dordrecht, and in 1673 he moved to Amsterdam, where he lived until his death. In 1660-ies he moved away from the style of Rembrandt and began to paint portraits in bright colours, closer to the style of van Dyck, which had great success. In the works of Maas often monograms, as, for example, cat stealing food women. while she prays before dinner.

Powered by Yandex.Translate

Exhibitions

All exhibitions of the artist
Whole feed
View 35 artworks by the artist