Выберите язык
Пользуйтесь Артхивом на удобном для вас языке
Регистрация
Создайте учетную запись
Зарегистрируйтесь, чтобы использовать максимум функций Артхива

Франц
Марк

Германия 
1880−1916
Подписаться161
Франц Марк (нем. Franz Marc, 8 февраля 1880, Мюнхен, Германия – 4 марта 1916, Верден, Франция) – немецкий художник-экспрессионист, основавший вместе с Василием Кандинским художественное объединение и альманах «Синий всадник».

Особенности творчества Франца Марка: художник всю жизнь писал животных, считая их высшими существами и пытаясь найти в их жизни особое ощущение себя внутри природы, утерянное современным человеком. Марк не наблюдал за животными со стороны, а смотрел на мир их глазами. Для живописи Франца Марка характерны резкие переходы цвета, яркая, чистая палитра, напряженные, резкие формы, часто кубистические – на поздних картинах.

Известные картины Франца Марка: «Судьбы животных», «Башня синих лошадей», «Лисицы», «Тироль», «Косули в лесу».

Франц Мориц Вильгельм Марк всегда был мечтателем, который любил лошадей и разговаривал со своей собакой. В детстве он мечтал о работе сельского священника, в юности – о браке из жалости, к концу своей недолгой жизни – об очищении мира войной. Ни одна из этих фантазий не воплотилась – Франца Марка ждала совсем другая судьба, которая и знать ничего не хотела о его сумасбродных мечтах.

Художник, а не священник

Маленький Франц был очень умным, тихим и вдумчивым, еще в гимназии увлекся Ницше. В самом деле, сложно представить сорванца в семье отца-юриста и матери-кальвинистки. Его старший брат Пауль стал ученым-византинистом, а Франц без раздумий выбрал теологию и философский факультет Мюнхенского университета. В этой семье все было очень серьезно.

Невозможно сейчас угадать, какие впечатления или события произошли во время прохождения Францем Марком срочной службы, но после нее он вернулся с совершенно твердым решением бросить философию и заняться живописью. Потом последует добрый десяток лет напряженного поиска своего пути: он поступит в Академию художеств и разочаруется в академическом образовании, он поедет в Париж копировать полотна старых мастеров и онемеет в восторге перед картинами Ван Гога и Гогена, он совсем ненадолго увлечется модерном и романтизмом.

К моменту встречи с Василием Кандинским в 1911 году Франц Марк уже выяснил о себе все: его настольной книгой была «Жизнь животных» Брема, любимым местом для упражнений в рисунке – зоопарк, главным источником в изучении натуры – экспонаты зоологического музея, а каждый цвет на его палитре обрел собственный характер и смысл. «Я хочу обострить свое восприятие органического ритма всех вещей, расширить пантеистическое ощущение мира, живого пульсирующего потока крови в природе, деревьях, животных и воздухе... Я не знаю лучшего способа подобного "оживления" искусства, чем изображение животных».

Сколько бы лошадей, косуль и собак ни написал Марк, ни один толковый искусствовед не называл его «анималистом» - изображение животных для художника становится новой мечтой, попыткой посмотреть на мир глазами зверя.

Первый альманах «Синий всадник» Кандинский и Марк создавали вдвоем. Они придумали название (потому что оба любили синий цвет, Кандинский – всадников, Марк – лошадей), отбирали и редактировали материалы и замахнулись создать первую в мире «синтетическую книгу». Рукописные музыкальные партитуры, детские рисунки, народное творчество, авангардная живопись и скульптура, философские и искусствоведческие эссе – все это встало рядом, разрушая границы искусств.

«Синим всадником» позже начали называть художественное объединение молодых художников, собравшихся вокруг Марка и Кандинского. А через несколько лет началась Первая мировая война, навсегда оставив первый выпуск альманаха единственным. «Синий всадник» - это мы оба, я и Марк» - сказал Кандинский позже и даже после войны отказался возрождать этот проект. Без Марка.

Не та Мария

Мало кто знал Марка ближе, чем Василий Кандинский: «Он выглядел как житель гор с его необыкновенным ростом, широкими плечами, худым лицом, черными волосами, с его манерой размашисто шагать. В городе он казался столь массивным, столь несоответствующим. Его лучше было видеть среди гор, лугов и лесов. Там он был «дома». Всегда его сопровождала большая белая собака по имени Русси, которая походила на хозяина беспорядком внешнего вида, силой и некоторой треугольностью облика… Они чудесно дополняли и понимали друг друга. Черный говорил что-нибудь Белому ласковым голосом, и Белый кивал головою в ответ». С животными у Марка всегда складывалось проще, чем с людьми.

Личная жизнь Марка была путанной и изматывающей, ему было неудобно и тесно в этих отношениях, как тесно бывало в городе. Ни бурный роман с замужней художницей Анеттой фон Экардт, ни загадочный брак из милосердия с Марией Шнюр не принесли Францу счастья, он никогда не был с ними «дома». Другая Мария, Мария Франц не была богемной красоткой, не отличалась особой утонченностью, курносая и круглолицая, походила на крестьянку. Но именно она, искренняя и открытая, стала его прибежищем, его домом и его счастьем. Четыре года влюбленным пришлось ждать расторжения первого брака, чтобы наконец-то пожениться и больше никогда не расставаться.

Страшная война вместо обновления

Франц Марк не единственный молодой искренний немец, который пошел воевать в Первую мировую за идею глобального обновления и очищения Европы. Эти мысли витали в воздухе – просто Марк в отличие от многих других отчаянно красиво их формулировал: «война станет прорывом к новой Европе, прорывом, пусть даже и жестоким, но благотворным», «сейчас нам нужно замолчать и дать слово мировой истории», «война не превращает меня в реалиста – наоборот… Сражения, раны, движения - все кажется таким мистическим, нереальным». Кроме всех прочих способностей он имел талант между прочим, в каком-нибудь личном письме, высказать важные для всего поколения идеи очень емко и в точку. Именно поэтому о его жизни пишут не только арт-критики, но и историки, исследователи этой всемирной кровавой мясорубки.

Самые близкие друзья восторженных ожиданий Марка не поддерживают: Пауль Клее презирает даже его военный мундир, Кандинский вынужден уехать в Россию и не принимает ту цену, которую придется заплатить Европе за очищение, 27-летний Август Макке погиб в бою и обессмыслил своей смертью любые доводы в пользу войны. Прозрение пришло к Францу вместе с первыми серьезными боями: «трупный запах на километры вокруг невыносим» - пишет он в письме к жене.

Смерть вместо жизни

Немецкое правительство в 1916 году подготовило список важных для страны художников, которых следовало освободить от военной службы. Франц Марк был в списке, но так и не узнал об этом. Как в классическом кино, где факта смерти самого по себе мало для эффектного ухода героя, Марк погиб за несколько дней до того, как приказ доставили на фронт. Его ранили в сражении под Верденом – одном из самых кровавых за всю историю Первой мировой войны. Тогда обе стороны потеряли около миллиона человек – но даже смерть большого художника и мечтателя Франца Марка не принесла Европе ожидаемого очищения. Надежда осталась только на искусство, о котором он говорил: «Искусство – ни что иное, как выражение мечты. Чем больше мы предаемся ему, тем ближе подступаем к внутренней правде вещей».

Автор: Анна Сидельникова

Выставки

Все выставки художника
Вся лента

Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum

Franz
Mark

Germany 
1880−1916
Subscribe160
Franz Mark (German Franz Marc, February 8, 1880, Munich, Germany - March 4, 1916, Verdun, France) Is a German expressionist painter who, together with Vasily Kandinsky, founded the Blue Horseman art association and anthology.

Features of the work of Franz Marc: the artist has painted animals all his life, considering them to be higher beings and trying to find in their life a special feeling of himself within nature that has been lost by modern man. Mark did not watch the animals from the side, but looked at the world through their eyes. Franz Marc’s paintings are characterized by sharp color transitions, a bright, clean palette, intense, sharp forms, often cubist in later paintings.

Famous paintings by Franz Marc: "The fate of animals", The Tower of the Blue Horses, "Foxes", "Tyrol", “Roe deer in the forest”.

Franz Moritz Wilhelm Mark has always been a dreamer who loved horses and talked with his dog. In childhood, he dreamed of the work of a village priest, in his youth - of a marriage of pity, by the end of his short life - of cleansing the world by war. None of these fantasies came true - Franz Mark was waiting for a completely different fate, which did not want to know anything about his extravagant dreams.

An artist, not a priest

Little Franz was very smart, quiet and thoughtful, still in the gymnasium carried away by Nietzsche. In fact, it is difficult to imagine a tomboy in the family of a lawyer father and a Calvinist mother. His elder brother Paul became a Byzantine scholar, and Franz without hesitation chose theology and philosophy department of the University of Munich. Everything was very serious in this family.

It is impossible to guess now what impressions or events occurred during the passage of Franz Mark's military service, but after she returned with a completely firm decision to give up philosophy and start painting. Then a good ten years of intense search for his path will follow: he will go to the Academy of Arts and be disappointed in academic education, he will go to Paris to copy the canvases of old masters and become numb with enthusiasm for the paintings Van Gogh and GauguinHe will be carried away for a short while modern and romanticism.

By the time of the meeting with Wassily Kandinsky in 1911, Franz Marc already found out everything about himself: Brema's “Life of Animals” was his reference book, the zoo was his favorite place for drawing exercises, the main source for studying nature was the exhibits of the Zoological Museum, and each color on its palette acquired its own character and meaning. “I want to sharpen my perception of the organic rhythm of all things, to expand the pantheistic sensation of the world, the living pulsating blood flow in nature, trees, animals and air ... I don’t know a better way of such an“ animation ”of art than the image of animals”.

No matter how many horses, roe deer and dogs Mark wrote, no sensible art critic called him an “animalist” - the image of animals for the artist becomes a new dream, an attempt to look at the world through the eyes of the beast.

The first almanac "Blue Horseman" Kandinsky and Mark created together. They came up with a name (because both loved the blue, Kandinsky — the riders, Mark — the horses), selected and edited materials, and set out to create the world's first “synthetic book.” Handwritten musical scores, children's drawings, folk art, avant-garde painting and sculpture, philosophical and art essays - all this stood nearby, breaking the boundaries of art.

The "Blue Horseman" later began to be called the artistic association of young artists gathered around Mark and Kandinsky. And a few years later the First World War began, forever leaving the first issue of the almanac the only one. The Blue Horseman is both of us, me and Mark. ” - Kandinsky said later and even after the war he refused to revive this project. Without Mark.

Not that Maria

Few knew Mark better than Wassily Kandinsky: “He looked like a resident of the mountains with his extraordinary growth, broad shoulders, thin face, black hair, with his manner to walk sweepingly. In the city, he seemed so massive, so inappropriate. It was better to see him among the mountains, meadows and forests. There he was "at home." He was always accompanied by a large white dog named Russi, who resembled the owner with a mess of appearance, strength and a certain triangular appearance ... They miraculously complemented and understood each other. Black said something to White in a gentle voice, and White nodded his head in reply.. With animals, Mark has always been easier than with people.

Mark's personal life was confusing and exhausting, he was uncomfortable and cramped in these respects, as it was closely in the city. Neither a stormy romance with married artist Anette von Ekardt, nor a mysterious marriage of mercy with Maria Schnyur brought Franz happiness, he was never “at home” with them. Another Maria, Maria Franz, was not a bohemian beauty, she was not particularly sophisticated, snub-nosed and chubby, was like a peasant woman. But it was she, sincere and open, who became his refuge, his home and his happiness. For four years, lovers had to wait for the divorce of their first marriage in order to finally get married and never part.

Terrible war instead of updating

Franz Marc is not the only young sincere German who went to war in World War I for the idea of global renewal and purification of Europe. These thoughts were in the air - just Mark, unlike many others, frantically beautifully formulated them: “the war will be a breakthrough to a new Europe, a breakthrough, even cruel, but beneficial ”,“ now we need to shut up and give the word of world history ”,“ the war does not turn me into a realist - on the contrary ... Battles, wounds, movements - everything seems so mystical unreal ". In addition to all his other abilities, he had a talent, by the way, in some personal letter, to express ideas that were important for the whole generation very capaciously and to the point. That is why not only art critics write about his life, but also historians, researchers of this world-wide bloody meat grinder.

The closest friends of Mark's enthusiastic expectations do not support: Paul Klee even his military uniform is despised, Kandinsky is forced to leave for Russia and does not accept the price that Europe will have to pay for purification, a 27-year-old August Macke He died in battle and made no sense of his arguments in favor of war with his death. Enlightenment came to Franz along with the first serious battles: "The cadaverous smell for miles around is unbearable" he writes in a letter to his wife.

Death instead of life

The German government in 1916 prepared a list of important artists for the country, who should be freed from military service. Franz Marc was on the list, but never found out. Like in a classic movie, where the fact of death alone is not enough for the hero’s spectacular departure, Mark died a few days before the order was delivered to the front. He was wounded in the battle of Verdun, one of the bloodiest in the history of the First World War. Then both sides lost about a million people - but even the death of the great artist and dreamer Franz Mark did not bring Europe the expected purification. Hope remained only on the art of which he spoke: “Art is nothing but an expression of a dream. The more we surrender to him, the closer we come to the inner truth of things ”.

Author: Anna Sidelnikova

Exhibitions

All exhibitions of the artist
Whole feed