Welcome to the brand new Arthive! Discover a full list of new features here.

Lev
Samoilovich Bakst (Leon Bakst)

Russia • 1866−1924
随意派所有爱好者将艺术分为高低,对时尚不屑一顾,并确保只有精致的人才喜欢剧院,以及“各种破布”都是愚蠢的女人,到Leon Bakst的生平。告诉他们阅读 Bakst 的传记并欣赏他的戏剧素描,告诉他们哈伦裤、头巾和高剪裁连衣裙从剧院来到时尚界,并且 里昂·巴克斯特 带来了他们——一位因犹太身份而被驱逐出圣彼得堡的俄罗斯艺术家,一位佳吉列夫《俄罗斯四季》的传奇设计师,一位征服巴黎和美国的人,一位犹太男孩 Leib-Haim Izrailevich。

当 Bakst 还不是 Bakst 时

Leib Haim (Leon or Lev) Izrailevich Rosenberg。那是 1866 年出生于省格罗德诺市一个犹太商人大家庭的孩子的名字。麻烦不仅限于名称。作为一个很小的男孩,他拿起了一支铅笔,因为妥拉不允许描绘人,所以在一堆纸上发现的人像并没有让他的父亲满意。

Bakst 是他外祖父的姓氏 Baxter 的缩写,他对这位未来的艺术家产生了不可否认的影响。祖父是一位著名的裁缝,长期居住在巴黎,他在彼得堡的房子是按照巴黎风格布置的。当父母发现噩梦和恐怖——小男孩决定画人时,Levushka 向他的祖父寻求保护,并得到了保护。祖父不仅让他画画欣赏挂在家里墙上的画,还让他的父母怀疑:难道这孩子真的有天赋吗?毫无疑问,这个男孩拥有这种天赋,因此他就读于圣彼得堡的俄罗斯艺术学院(尽管只是作为志愿者)成为合乎逻辑的一步。

几年后,他不得不离开学院,因为他在宗教主题上的工作“不符合教规”。但官方措辞背后隐藏了什么?列夫·罗森伯格 (Lev Rosenberg) 创作了“基督的哀悼”这幅画(该作品未保存),该画中的所有人物主题都以典型的犹太人面部特征为特征。显然,他既没有违背历史真理,也没有违背艺术真理;然而,学院领导并不真正喜欢这种自由。尽管如此,它是为了更好的。他的父母分道扬镳,年轻人自己养家糊口。立即发挥他的才能赚钱至关重要,他找到了一份童书设计师的工作。

Leon Bakst 和“艺术世界”

甚至在学习期间,列夫·罗森伯格 (Lev Rosenberg) 在 阿尔伯特·贝诺瓦.然而,另一件事更重要:他在那里遇到了阿尔伯特的弟弟修拉。是的,非常 亚历山大·班耐瓦(Alexandre Benois)与他们成为“艺术世界”运动的创始人,后来与同为贝诺瓦圈成员的佳吉列夫一起出版了同名杂志。实际上,在阿尔伯特·贝诺瓦 (Albert Benois) 的家中,运动的核心已经形成。 “艺术世界”反对 Peredvizhniki 艺术运动(通常称为流浪者)的道德化和指责性语调,提倡纯粹的美。但是罗森伯格什么时候变成巴克斯特的? 1889年应邀参加俄罗斯和芬兰艺术家联展。想起他在学院的失败,列夫想了很多。他想被人记住,但正如他的生活已经表明的那样,没有必要强调国籍……他砍掉了祖父的名字,成为了巴克斯特。然后艺术家“选择”了更和谐的父名。后来,在法国,Lev 被 Leon 取代。

巴克斯特的第一次海外巡演发生在 1891 年。皇家法院的命令给他带来了一些钱。直到1900年代,他利用一切机会住在巴黎,不时访问圣彼得堡。然而,在这些抵达期间,他画了精彩的肖像画,并以才华横溢的肖像画家而闻名,在兹万采娃绘画学院任教,在那里 马克·夏加尔 成为他最著名的学生。与此同时,巴克斯特因似乎积极劝阻夏加尔移居巴黎的人而闻名于世:“没人需要你在那里;你会被饿死的。” 对此有不同的说法(比如巴克斯特给了夏加尔去巴黎旅行的钱),但人们不得不承认巴克斯特对关注这条线的呼吁显然没有被他的著名学生所忽略。

艺术家的个人生活

巴克斯特是一个充满激情的人。不赘述,需要说明的是,在波西米亚社会(尤其是“俄罗斯四季”中),除了艺术上的激情,还有一些感官上的激情。而那些激情,考虑到那些没有太多宽容空间的时代,几乎是非传统的。巴克斯特并没有从事这样的事情。他只对女性感兴趣。在巴黎,一位初出茅庐的年轻艺术家被圣彼得堡米哈伊洛夫斯基剧院法国剧团的某位女演员热情地带走了。贝诺瓦笑着回忆说,她非常努力地“启发”她没有经验的朋友,带领他穿越“色情地狱的各个圈子”。

在圣彼得堡,里昂·巴克斯特 (Leon Bakst) 与帕维尔·特列季亚科夫 (Pavel Tretyakov) 的女儿柳芭 (Lyuba) 结婚。在 Bakst 之前,她嫁给了一位艺术家和一名潜水员,一位海军军官 Nikolai Gritsenko,并生下了他们的女儿 Marina。 1898 年,她的父亲去世了,两年后,她的丈夫去世了。但是巴克斯特呢?他真的很痴迷于柳博夫·格里森科。为了娶她,他将自己的宗教从犹太教改为路德教。 1907年,他们的儿子安德烈出生。巴克斯特非常喜欢他的家人。不可能确切地说是什么导致了他们的分裂,但几年后关系走下坡路,婚姻破裂。莱昂·巴克斯特 (Leon Bakst) 一生都与前妻和孩子保持着温暖的关系,并在经济上支持他们。顺便说一句,离婚后,他又回到了犹太教。

“巴黎在巴克斯特喝醉了”(A.莱文森)

1909 年,谢尔盖·佳吉列夫 (Sergei Diaghilev) 的第一个“俄罗斯季节”项目即将在巴黎完成。芭蕾舞剧“埃及艳后”在夏特莱剧院上演。那一次,被宠坏的公众并没有期待任何特别的东西,尽管毫无疑问它会很棒。当然,会有金字塔和狮身人面像,芭蕾舞裙装饰着莲花,艺术家们会呈现一个相当平庸的情节。 “但是这些俄罗斯人的技术非常棒,您同意吗,先生?” - 大厅里正在悄悄地讨论着“季节”。

帷幕升起,大厅里凝固了。尼罗河在观众面前铺开水面,被烈日灼伤的黑奴抬出珍贵的轿子。从里面取出了一具木乃伊;奴隶们解开他们明亮的长袍:红色的火焰、翡翠色的波浪、沙漠的炎热和漆黑的夜晚,等等,越来越多,越来越多。他们丢掉了第 11 套衣服,然后……就在这儿,克娄巴特拉!那条透明的蓝色连衣裙,就像一块磁铁,吸引了整个大厅的注意力,她倒是赤身裸体。观众似乎忘记了人们应该呼吸?谢尔盖·佳吉列夫 (Sergei Diaghilev) 谈到了表演:“成功?胜利?这些话没有说出来,也没有传达出那种让整个礼堂为之着迷的热情,那种神圣的火焰和神圣的谵妄。。”

莱昂·巴克斯特 (Leon Bakst) 的戏剧时代开始了。帕里斯为他喝醉了。同时代人说,成为巴克斯特就意味着成为巴黎人。他被崇拜。他参与的每场演出都成为了一件大事。马塞尔·普鲁斯特写道:“......告诉巴克斯特,我感到一种神奇的惊喜,不知道比谢赫拉扎德更美丽的东西。” 伊达·鲁宾斯坦(Ida Rubinstein)有钱又疯狂地爱上了剧院,只想将他视为她的舞台设计师(123)。然而,每个人都希望他成为他们的一员。

事实上,巴克斯特既没有彻底改变俄罗斯戏剧,也没有改变巴黎戏剧,而是改变了世界的戏剧艺术。风景、服装、情节、动作——所有这些都不再是整体的独立部分;这些东西建立了联系,形成了以前从未存在过的东西。

从某种意义上说,《俄罗斯四季》成就了巴克斯特。他们与佳吉列夫的关系并非一帆风顺,但作为专业人士,他们彼此付出了很多。 1910 年,巴克斯特定居巴黎。被誉为壮丽风景的作者,在世界时尚之都,他也成为了令人梦寐以求的布饰创造者。时尚之王与他合作;他的名字没有离开杂志封面。美国在海外疯了,想要得到巴克斯特,而巴黎对他喝醉了。但是巴克斯特呢?他不停地工作。他帮助他的兄弟姐妹和他的前妻养育了两个孩子。尽管他得到了认可和幸福,但他没有机会呼气和休息。

关于定居生活方式的一些特征

而祖国呢?当莱昂·巴克斯特(Leon Bakst)在欧洲已经家喻户晓,名字正在蓬勃发展,人们想见谁,想和谁一起工作…… 那么,当里昂·巴克斯特(Leon Bakst)于 1912 年因公来到彼得堡时,他遇到了什么?或者更确切地说,与谁:与监督命令一个被西方爱抚的天才离开俄罗斯首都。 “为什么?” - 艺术家很惊讶。那是因为根据新法律,圣彼得堡不包括在犹太人的定居点中。那个故事在社会上引起了轰动。艺术界最著名的人都站出来为他辩护,但这并没有改变任何事情。 “......我在全世界都努力美化的国家,这是一种耻辱,”艺术家苦涩地说。向皇帝申请北都居住权后,他再次前往巴黎。在法国,他更受赞赏。 1914 年,一位不允许“弄脏”圣彼得堡土壤的人被授予法国最高勋章——荣誉军团勋章。受到鼓舞,他再次来到彼得堡……他的请愿被拒绝了。同年,艺术学院选举他为正式成员,使巴克斯特免于忍受可耻的法律,他有权住在彼得堡。但为时已晚了。这位艺术家筋疲力尽,累了,有太多的工作要做,太多的焦虑,他神经衰弱,抑郁,此外还有高血压。与妻子离婚,以及世界大灾难,特别是第一次世界大战,也没有给他的生活增添乐观情绪。在那之后,革命爆发了,巴克斯特在苏联已经无所事事了。 然而,革命后,利用光顾 格拉巴 和卢那察尔斯基,他能够从俄罗斯带走他的前妻和他们的孩子。

成功,再成功一次,紧张,然后又紧张。和大量的工作。

在瑞士进行了长期治疗。然后巴克斯特的生活沿着这条轨道前进:成功 - 精神崩溃,再次成功,然后再次疲惫。多亏了约翰和爱丽丝·加勒特,新世界牢牢地进入了他的生活。他是外交官和银行家,她是聪明女孩,是慈善家。多年来,他们成为了里昂·巴克斯特 (Leon Bakst) 的忠实朋友。多亏了他们,艺术家多次飞往美国(第一次 - 1922年底),他通常可以在他们身边找到一种内心的平静和一些休息,这对他来说是那么难以接近的。他们帮助他将自己的想法变为现实,还帮助人们在他们的国家更多地了解 Leon Bakst。他粉刷了他们的豪宅,设计了一个家庭影院,多亏了阁楼的积极帮助,他在美国大学讲学,并在美国不断举办他的展览。

1924年初,他充满了新的想法。他梦想开一家时装和通用设计之家。 Bakst 长期以来一直在制作戏剧服装,他与时装公司签订了合同。但在那个项目中,他梦想将他可能做的一切,甚至是他以前没有做过的事情结合起来:在一个概念中为客户开发建筑、室内、家具、餐具、衣服、珠宝和汽车。当然,这会和 Leon Bakst 所做的一切一样精彩。他只是没有足够的时间。

阿莱娜·埃绍洛娃 编剧
Go to biography

出版物

View all publications

展览

画家的所有展览
View all artist's artworks
全部消息

Choose a language
Use Arthive in the language you prefer
Sign up
Create an account
Register to use Arthive functionality to the maximum

Lev (Leon)
Bakst

Russia 
1866−1924
Subscribe436
Feel free to send all the lovers to divide art into high and low, speak dismissively of fashion and assure that only exquisite people love theaters, and that “all kinds of rags” are stupid women, to the lifestory of Leon Bakst. Tell them to read Bakst’s biography and admire his theatrical sketches, tell them that harem pants, turbans and dresses with a high cut came to the world of fashion from the theater, and Leon Bakst brought them - a Russian artist who was expelled from St. Petersburg because of Jewishness, a legendary designer of Diaghilev’s “Russian Seasons”, a man who conquered Paris and America, the Jewish boy Leib-Haim Izrailevich.

When Bakst was not Bakst yet

Leib Haim (Leon or Lev) Izrailevich Rosenberg. That was the name of the child born in 1866 in the provincial town of Grodno in the large family of a Jewish businessman. Troubles weren’t limited to just a name. Being a very little boy, he took up a pencil, and since the Torah didn’t allow depicting people, the painted human figures found in a stack of paper did not please his father.

Bakst was short for Baxter, the surname of his maternal grandfather, who made an undeniable impact on the future artist. The grandfather was a well-known tailor, he lived in Paris for a long time, and he furnished his house in Petersburg according to Parisian style. When the parents discovered that nightmare and horror - the little boy decided to draw people, Levushka asked for protection from his grandfather, and received it. The grandfather not only allowed him to draw and admire paintings hanging on the walls at home, but managed to raise a grain of doubt with regard to his parents: maybe the child really had talent? And the boy possessed that talent, without a doubt, and therefore The Russian Academy of Arts in Saint Petersburg, where he enrolled (though only as a volunteer), became the logical step.

A few years later, he had to leave the Academy because his work on a religious subject “did not correspond to the canons”. But what was hidden behind the official wording? Lev Rosenberg worked on the painting “The Mourning of Christ” (the work is not preserved), and all the human subjects in that painting were distinguished by typical Jewish facial features. Obviously, he didn’t go against either historical or artistic truth; however, the Academy leadership wasn’t really fond of such liberty. Nevertheless, it was for the better. His parents parted ways, and the young man provided for his family himself. It was crucial to immediately make use of his talent in order to earn money, and he found a job of a children’s book designer.

Leon Bakst and “The World of Art”

Even during his studies, Lev Rosenberg entered the society of scuba divers under the leadership of Albert Benois. However, another thing was much more important: there he met Albert’s younger brother, Shura. Yes, the very Alexandre Benois, with whom they would become the founders of “The World of Art” movement, and later, together with Diaghilev, also a member of the Benois circle, would publish the magazine of the same name. Actually, in the house of Albert Benois, the core of the movement was formed. The “World of Art” opposed the moralizing and accusatory intonations of the Peredvizhniki art movement (often called the Wanderers) and advocated pure beauty. But when did Rosenberg become Bakst? In 1889, he was invited to participate in a joint exhibition of Russian and Finnish artists. Remembering his failure at the Academy, Lev gave that a lot of thought. He wanted to be remembered, but, as his life had already shown, it was not necessary to make an emphasis on nationality... He cut off the name of his grandfather and became Bakst. Then the artist “chose” the patronymic which was more harmonious. And later, in France, Lev was replaced by Leon.

Bakst’s first overseas tour took place in 1891. The order for the royal court brought him some money. And until the 1900s, he used every opportunity to live in Paris and visited St. Petersburg from time to time. However, during those arrivals he painted wonderful portraits, gained fame as a talented portrait painter, taught at the Zvantseva School of Drawing and Painting, where Marc Chagall became his most famous student. And at the same time, Bakst became famous for posterity as the very man who seemed to actively dissuade Chagall from moving to Paris: “Nobody needs you there; you’ll be starved to death.” There were different versions about that (to the extent that Bakst gave Chagall money for a trip to Paris), but one could not but admit that Bakst’s appeals to pay attention to the line clearly did not pass by his famous student.

The artist’s personal life

Bakst was a passionate man. Without going into too much detail, it should be noted that in bohemian society (in particular, among the “Russian Seasons”), in addition to artistic passions, there also were some sensual passions. And those passions, considering those times when there wasn’t a lot of place for tolerance, were pretty much untraditional. Bakst was not engaged in anything like that; he was exclusively interested in women. In Paris, a young artist, a novice to love affairs, was passionately carried away by a certain actress of the French troupe of the Mikhailovsky Theater in St. Petersburg. Benois recalled with laughter that she tried very hard to “enlighten” her inexperienced friend, leading him through “all circles of erotic hell.”

In St. Petersburg, Leon Bakst married Pavel Tretyakov’s daughter, Lyuba, for love. Before Bakst, she was married to an artist and a scuba diver, a naval officer Nikolai Gritsenko and gave birth to their daughter, Marina. In 1898, her father died, and two years later – her husband. But what about Bakst? He was literally obsessed with Lyubov Gritsenko. For the sake of marrying her, he changed his religion from Judaism to Lutheranism. In 1907, their son Andrei was born. Bakst was very fond of his family. It was impossible to say with certainty what caused their split, but after a few years the relationship went downhill and the marriage broke up. Leon Bakst maintained a warm relationship with his ex-wife and children for his whole life and supported them financially. By the way, after the divorce, he returned to Judaism.

“Paris was drunk on Bakst” (A.Levinson)

The first “Russian Seasons” project by Sergei Diaghilev was coming near to being completed in Paris in 1909. The ballet “Cleopatra” was on at the Théâtre du Châtelet. That time around, the spoiled public did not expect anything special, although there was no doubt that it was going to be amazing. Surely, there were going to be pyramids and a sphinx, ballet skirts decorated with lotuses and the artists would present a rather banal plot. “But the technique of these Russians is magnificent, do you agree, Monsieur?” - “Seasons” were being discussed quietly in the hall.

The curtain soared up, and the hall froze. Nile spread the waters in front of the audience, black slaves, burned by the scorching sun, carried out a precious palanquin. A mummy was extracted from it; the slaves unwounded their bright robes: red fire, emerald wave, desert heat, and dark night, and more, and more, and more. They dropped the eleventh outfit and ... here it was, Cleopatra! She was rather naked than dressed up in that transparent blue dress, like a magnet, which caught the attention of the entire hall. It seemed that the audience forgot that people were supposed to breathe? Sergei Diaghilev said the following about the performance: “Success? Triumph? These words do not say anything and do not convey that enthusiasm, that sacred fire and sacred delirium that enthralled the entire auditorium.”

The theater era of Leon Bakst had begun. Paris was drunk on him. Contemporaries said that to be Bakst meant to be a Parisian. He was adored. Each performance to which he put his hand became a huge event. Marcel Proust wrote: “... Tell Bakst that I feel a magical surprise, not knowing anything more beautiful than Scheherazade.” Ida Rubinstein, who was rich and madly in love with the theater, wanted to see only him as her stage-designer (1, 2, 3). However, everyone wanted him to be one for them.

In fact, Bakst revolutionized neither the Russian nor the Parisian theater, but rather the theatre art of the world. The scenery, costumes, plot, movement – all that ceased to be separate parts of the whole; those things made a connection and formed something that had never existed before.

In a sense, “Russian Seasons” made Bakst. Their relationship with Diaghilev was not cloudless, but they gave a lot to each other as professionals. In 1910, Bakst settled in Paris. Known as the author of magnificent scenery, in the fashion capital of the world, he had also become a coveted and very sought-after creator of fabric ornaments. Kings of fashion collaborated with him; his name didn’t leave the magazine covers. America was going crazy overseas, wanting to get Bakst, and Paris was drunk on him. But what about Bakst? He worked without rest. He helped his siblings and his ex-wife with two children. Despite his recognition and well-being, he did not have the opportunity to exhale and have a rest.

Something about the feature of settled way of life

And what about the homeland? When Leon Bakst, already widely known in Europe, whose name was booming, who people wanted to see, who they wanted to work with… So when Leon Bakst arrived in Petersburg in 1912 on business, what did he encounter? Or rather, with whom: with an overseer ordering a genius, caressed by the West, to leave the Russian capital. “Why?” - the artist was surprised. And that was because St. Petersburg, according to the new law, was not included in the Jewish Pale of Settlement. That story had stirred up the society. The most famous people in the world of art stood up for his defense, but that did not change anything. “... It was a shame for the country, which I tried hard to glorify in the whole world,” the artist said bitterly. Having applied to the emperor for the right to reside in the northern capital, he went to Paris again. In France, he was appreciated more. A man who was not allowed to “stain” St. Petersburg soil with his presence was awarded the highest French insignia in 1914 - the Order of the Legion of Honor. Inspired, he again came to Petersburg and ... He was denied a petition. In the same year, the Academy of Arts elected him as its full member, that saved Bakst from the need to put up with shameful law, he had the right to live in Petersburg. But it was too late. The artist was exhausted, tired, had too much work to do, too much anxiety, he had a nervous breakdown, depression and, in addition, hypertension. Divorce from his wife, as well as world cataclysms, in particular, the First World War, also did not add optimism to his life. After that, the revolution broke out, and Bakst had nothing to do in The Soviet Union anymore. However, after the revolution, using the patronage of Grabar and Lunacharsky, he was able to take his ex-wife with their children from Russia.

Success, success one more time, nerves, and then nerves again. And a lot of work.

Long-term treatment followed in Switzerland. Then Bakst’s life went along that track: success - a nervous breakdown, success again and then exhaustion again. Thanks to John and Alice Garrett, the New World had firmly entered his life. He was a diplomat and a banker, she was a smart girl, a philanthropist. For many years, they became faithful friends of Leon Bakst. Thanks to them, the artist repeatedly flew to America (for the first time - at the end of 1922), he usually could find a peace of mind and some repose being around them, which was so inaccessible to him. They helped him bring his ideas to life, and also helped people to get to know Leon Bakst a little bit more in their country. He painted their mansion, designed a home theater, thanks to the active help of the Garrets, he gave lectures at American universities, and his exhibitions were constantly held in America.

He was filled with new ideas at the beginning of 1924. He dreamed of opening a House of fashion and universal design. Bakst had been creating theatrical clothing for a long time and he had contracts with fashion houses. But in that project, he dreamed of combining everything that he possibly could, and even something that he did not do before: to develop the building architecture, interior, furniture, dishes, clothes, jewelry and cars for the customers in a single concept. Surely, that would have turned out as brilliant as everything that Leon Bakst undertook. He just did not have enough time.

Written by Alena Esaulova

Exhibitions

All exhibitions of the artist
Whole feed